The Irony of Stressing about Meditation

Last semester at Uni I had a project that required me to under go a behaviour change for 10 weeks. I tried meditation.

I thought I could easily commit to 20 minutes of meditation a day, and that I would reduce my stress levels and consequent side-affects.

Let me tell you, it was not at all easy. If anything, it added more stress. I was now stressing over not being able to meditate properly (talk about contradiction).

Simply sitting down for 20 minutes a day, trying to calm your thoughts is incredibly difficult, and not at all relaxing when you have no technique or realistic target.

This is something like how my first time went:

ok. So do I sit with my legs crossed? And where should I put my hands? On my lap I think. This is really uncomfortable. Hands on knees is better. Oh now Johns at the door, he’ll go away. Nope, he’s scratching at the door. Ok, I’ll let him in. Ok, breathe…. far out. How long does it take a dog to get comfortable?

Once I figured out that just sitting there wasn’t helping I did some research. Mainly just talking to my Aunty. She was so incredibly helpful, with what to do, and what not to do. And she’s so patient.

One of the first techniques that she taught me was simple counting.  Down and then back up to 20, focusing on your body and breathing.

One thing I have noticed, is that meditation is like a muscle. The more you do it the better you are at it, and the more it can help. I’m still learning about this kind of thing, and am open to new ways.

Got any tips for me?

.Xx

 

Leave a Reply

